“To be awake is to be alive.”

11 Apr

My six years in Boston is coming to a close…for now. With the end in sight, I’m realizing that there are still a few things in this city I have not yet done, and I don’t want to make the same mistakes that I did while studying abroad in London. Like that one time I worked next door to Westminster Abbey for two months and never entered Westminster Abbey. (What a freakin’ idiot.) Now, there is a sense of urgency to accomplish the following before I return to the island from whence I came:

1. Ride the swan boats and giggle like the four-year-old children who will be sitting next to me.

2. Go to Walden Pond with a copy of Walden in tow; I’ll probably be the first person ever to do that.

3. Kayak on the Charles a.k.a. the Jarls.

4. See the Blue Man Group and think of Dr. Tobias Fünke the entire time.

"I just blue myself."

5. Eat in Chinatown.

6. Take Sunset Cantina with me.

7. And the North End.

8. Visit the magical land of Rockport one more time.

9. Go to one more Sox game before I have to decide where my baseball loyalty lies. (It does not, and never will, lie with the Yankees.)

10. Have a sunset picnic in my favorite spot in Boston: the dock on the Esplanade.

11. Find Ben Affleck filming another Boston-based movie.

12. Buy a quality Boston snow globe to add to my stellar snow-global collection.

13a. Cry uncontrollably in a rocking position in the middle of Newbury Street where the beautiful foreigners will smoke cigarettes and judge me.

13b. Cry uncontrollably in a rocking position in the middle of Faneuil Hall whilst being incorporated into a street performance.

Stay tuned for photographic evidence of these adventures as I cross them off my list. And then stay tuned for my proposed list of Long Island-based outings. There will be just as much stuff to do on LI as there is in Boston, right? RIGHT? (Please see #13 and #14.)

3 Responses to ““To be awake is to be alive.””

  1. You-Know-Who (NOT Voldemort) April 12, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Awwwww. Boston will miss you, but the memories you create, and have created, will last a lifetime. Boston will be inside your heart – especially the wonderful people who have touched your life forever. BU <3, Beantown <3.

  2. Ed Cabellon April 15, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Great post Robyn, I love all of these as well, being from the New England area. 🙂

    where are you headed? Let’s be sure to stay connected on all your adventures!

  3. Stephanie Frost May 1, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I would love to scour the island with you and find its gems! All the things you’ve missed we’ll do together and be together!

Leave a Reply

