My Top Ten: Feel-Good Songs

11 Jan

Important life lesson: Do not put on depressing music when feeling sad. Instead, play* one of these joyous tunes:

*In most cases, you will have to follow a link to YouTube. Lame-o, but still worth it.

1. The Four Tops, “I Can’t Help Myself”

In and out my life
You come and you go
Leaving just your picture behind
And I kissed it a thousand times

2. The Beatles, “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da”

Ob-la-di, ob-la-da, life goes on…

3. Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”

If you need me, call me
No matter where you are, no matter how far
Just call my name, I’ll be there in a hurry
You don’t have to worry, ’cause baby,
There ain’t no mountain high enough

4. Rodrigo y Gabriela, “Diablo Rojo”

5. Coldplay, “Life in Technicolor ii”

Time came a-creepin’, oh, and time’s a loaded gun
Every road is a ray of light
It goes on, time only can lead you on
Still, it’s such a beautiful night

6. Guster, “Come Downstairs and Say Hello”

To tell you the truth, I’ve said it before
Tomorrow I start in a new direction
I know I’ve been half-asleep
I’m never doing that again

7. The Turtles, “Elenore”

Elenore, gee, I think you’re swell, a-haaa!

8. David Gray, “Please Forgive Me”

Please forgive me if I act a little strange
For I know not what I do,
Feels like lightning running through my veins
Every time I look at you

9. Regina Spektor, “On the Radio”

This is how it works
You’re young until you’re not
You love until you don’t
You try until you can’t
You laugh until you cry
You cry until you laugh
And everyone must breathe
Until their dying breath

10. John Denver, “Take Me Home, Country Roads”

Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, Mountain Mama
Take me home, country roads

 

 

One Response to “My Top Ten: Feel-Good Songs”

  1. Me January 15, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Wise advice, m’girl 🙂
    There’s much joy in life – let the music play on…

Leave a Reply

