“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”

14 Oct

Today was the first morning where I could see my breath outside. I rarely sleep past 7:45 a.m. anymore, even on weekends, which makes me feel like a real adult.  But I kind of love it. I love my goofy dog Bailey and how he is my alarm clock in the morning. He crawls onto my stomach and chest and then licks my face, unable to hold in his excitement for his morning walk and his cup of breakfast. And I love walking him before the city is wide awake and when the streets are still and quiet. And today was the first morning where I felt the chill of the air and saw my breath as it escaped from my mouth. What a refreshing start to the day.

Then I began thinking of other little things that make me extremely happy. Here are a couple that come to mind.

  1. When the faded leaves have fallen from the trees and dried up on the sidewalk, and how they crunch so harmoniously beneath my feet.
  2. Three-day weekends. I think there should be a national petition for a four-day work week and a three-day weekend. That extra day makes a huge difference in improving the quality of life, don’t you think?
  3. Completing a difficult crossword puzzle and filling in that final clue. The fact that this is one of my favorite things shows how nerdy I am.
  4. Winning trivia night at different pubs. Please see comment in #3.
  5. Surprises. Good ones, of course. I love surprising my Mom with a random visit home, and I love when someone I love tucks a little note away in a place they know I’ll find it.
  6. The ultimate food combination: chocolate and peanut butter. This is, hands down, the best mixture of flavors of all time. There is the obvious Reese’s Cup, but there’s also peanut butter and Nutella sandwiches, ice cream sundaes with peanut butter sauce and hot fudge, and, my personal favorite after a freshman-year saunter through Allston, a spoonful of peanut butter combined with a spoonful of chocolate pudding (a terrible decision in hindsight, but that’s what Allston does to people). Clearly not the most nutritious combination, but certainly one of the most delicious.  

    chocolatepeanutbuttergasm

  7. The way that certain smells can evoke intense emotions and tucked-away memories. We always say how we wish we  could bottle a moment up to keep it forever, but when faint scents arise out of nowhere years after a memory has been buried away, it’s like uncorking that bottle and reliving the moment all over again. For me, these smells include the following: my Papa’s aftershave; my Dad’s suits when we sat through temple; my elementary school’s Xerox room; my Grandma’s makeup; our house on my favorite holidays; and my favorite childhood books and old, worn books from the library.
  8. Saving relics from my past and pasting them into little journals. I’m especially glad to have done this now, because I will always feel my Dad right next to me when I see his unique handwriting on his homemade “knishmon productions” cards; I will always feel the excitement of experiencing the Sistine Chapel for the first time when I see my ticket to the Vatican Museum; and I will always feel the innocence of childhood when I see my first doll’s makeup brush taped to the pages of what has become my visual autobiography.
  9. That deep down, I still believe it’s possible that my stuffed animals come alive when I leave the room. They know when someone might be filming, too, so we’ll never know for sure if this magic does or does not happen. Along with “What is the purpose of life?” and “What happens after death?”, this is one of life’s greatest unsolved mysteries.  

    should we be HYSTERICAL?!

  10. That I can write whatever I want in this silly little blog, know that my thoughts are documented, and let them go from my mind. And that I can write one post a la e.e. cummings and another with correct grammar and punctuation as I please.
  11. Positive energy. Either doing random acts of kindness every day, no matter how small they might be, or just smiling at every person you pass on the street. I tried this once the other night when I went to the Apple Store on Boylston, and it’s unbelievable how many people smile back or even start talking to you. (Beware of the different types of smiles though, and avoid the creepy ones.) I remembered a quotation I saw a long time ago, and it got me thinking: “A smile costs nothing but gives much.  It enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give.  It takes but a moment, but the memory of it sometimes lasts forever.  None is so rich or mighty that he cannot get along without it and none is so poor that he cannot be made rich by it.  Yet a smile cannot be bought, begged, borrowed, or stolen, for it is something that is of no value to anyone until it is given away.  Some people are too tired to give you a smile.  Give them one of yours, as none needs a smile so much as he who has no more to give.” It made me want to start a worldwide project that encourages people to spread positivity through the simple act of smiling; I’ve never seen a smiling face that was not beautiful. I began to fantasize about this international phenomenon and even came up with an original name for it: The Smile Campaign. Upon returning home, I googled “The Smile Campaign” to make sure I was good to go, but unfortunately, the Smile Campaign already exists. Their motto: “Encouraging people rehabilitating from emotional/physical sickness, surgery, poverty or disability with Christ’s love.” …Maybe it’s better as an individual undertaking anyway.
2 Responses to ““Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.””

  1. Kaitlin October 14, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Eastplain’s xerox room!! I often think of returning there, going in the cafeteria, the gym, just to smell the smells and be brought back to those places. My sister and I wanted to go in and see Mrs. Cherpak and see if she recognizes us…want to join?? 🙂

    • robyn October 14, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      …I would LOVE that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

